Talking television with Helen Wyman

Podcast interview logoThe 2016 Aviva Women’s Tour was a fantastic race, and Dan and I talked about the racing action in our latest podcast (spoiler alert: so exciting!) – but I had a pretty unique view of the race this year, because I was doing commentary for ITV4.  I was doing the “as live” commentary with Hugh Porter, while cyclocross superstar and general all-round cycling guru Helen Wyman did the presenting at the start and finish of each show with Ned Boulting.  I had so many questions about her experience – so we chatted about it all, with a foray at the end into how the TV coverage of women’s cyclocross has already changed the sport after one season – have a listen!

 

 

If you missed any of our TV commentary, they’ll be archived for a few more weeks here on the ITV Hub.  You can also find tons of clips from the race, including highlights with some of me, on the Aviva Women’s Tour YouTube – and of course more fantastic media on the race website.

Find out more about Helen on her website and by following her great twitter, and check out her fantastic cycling kit collaboration with Velocio Apparel, for women and for men…

As always, I am funded to do this kind of thing by my wonderful Patreon supporters – thank you so much!  You can join them from as little as £/$/€ 2 a month, over here.

Advertisements

Podcast 2016 Episode 20 – With Four Broken Ribs

Podcast logo This week we’re back after Sarah’s been working doing the commentary for the television coverage of the Aviva Women’s Tour. We discuss all things British stage racing. We also catch up on the Giro del Trentino and the North Star GP. We take a quick look ahead and start to prepare ourselves for the excitement of the Giro Rosa. Our title this week is a tribute to the amazing Alison Tetrick who raced most of the Women’s Tour with four cracked ribs. (1:11:19 MIN / 65.3 MB)

You can sign up for free automated updates via the iTunes store here OR via our RSS feed here.

How to follow and watch the 2016 Aviva Women’s Tour

15-19th June 2016

It’s the tenth round of the UCI Women’s WorldTour, and I can’t praise this race enough.  When it came onto the scene in 2014, it set a new bar in professionalism, not only for women’s cycling, but also for women’s sports, demonstrating categorically that hell yes, there’s an audience for sports – and the fans don’t only turn out for the men!  Seems odd to need that?  Indeed!

It’s not live, but there’ll be hour-long highlights, which this year I’m commentating (nerves?  Don’t know what they are!) and it’s a great one to follow on social media.

Stages 1 & 2 start at 10am, Stages 3 and 5 at 10:45 and Stage 4 at 10:30 – that’s all UK BST (10am is 11:00 Euro CEST, 5am USA EDT, 7pm Aussie AEST) and you can follow on the race liveblog, their twitter, and via the #AvivaWT2016 hashtag, which has so many amazing photos and videos from fans by the roadside, alongside race updates – or if you prefer, I’ve got a twitter list with key accounts tweeting from the race.

The race will be putting up clips from the race on their Snapchat through the race – find them as thewomenstour there – and photos on their instagram too.

The Highlights are on ITV4 (or an hour later on ITV4+1) which is also streamed, and archived for a month, on the ITV Hub – or if you’re not in the UK, you can watch via Filmon (more information here). Highlights times (bear in mind the schedule keeps changing, so check them on the day here)

  • Stage 1, 9pm BST Wednesday 15th June (22:00 CEST; 4pm EDT; 6am AEST) repeated 1pm 16th
  • Stage 2, 9pm BST Thursday 16th (22:00 CEST; 4pm EDT; 6am AEST) repeated 1pm 17th
  • Stage 3, 11pm BST Friday 17th (00:00 CEST; 6pm EDT; 8am AEST) repeated midday 18th
  • Stage 4, 10:30pm BST Saturday 18th (23:300 CEST; 5:30pm EDT; 7:30am AEST) repeated 8:55am 19th
  • Stage 5, 10:30pm BST Sunday 19th (23:300 CEST; 5:30pm EDT; 7:30am AEST) repeated 12:40pm 20th

If you miss any of these, they’ll be archived for a month by ITV on their Hub, here.

The highlights will also be shown on various TV stations around the world – you can find out more here, and check your local channel for listings.

There will also be lots of highlights videos clips, including from the UCI on their YouTube channel, local BBC stations, from teams like Wiggle High5’s youtube, and of course the race.  Their YouTube already has some great clips of the stages, rider interviews and race preparation – including this lovely clip from InCycle TV, who talked to their route director Andy Hawes about the work that goes on to make sure the roads are as ready as possible.

I’ll be adding videos and links to my women’s cycling Tumblr as I go – and of course linking on my twitter.

There’s a huge amount of information on the race website, including the startlist, a shop where you can buy race clothing, and this Rookie’s Guide – and via the hashtags etc – and if you have any questions, I’m @_pigeons_ on twitter, or ask me in the comments!  I hope you love this one as much as I do, it’s a very special race.

Podcast 2016 Episode 5 – Omloops!

Podcast logoG’day team! There’s not one, but two Omloops this week, so of course we talk all about them! There’s also heaps of media and interviews to discuss. The track world championships are coming up. Evelyn Stevens is about to attempt the Hour World Record. Basically there’s a lot to talk about and we discuss it all with great joy. Spring is upon us and about to bloom in full, cobbled, torturous glory! (58:40 MIN / 53.7 MB)

You can also sign up for free downloads from the iTunes store here or via our RSS feed here.

Things we talked about this week

The Aviva Women’s Tour great, melodramatic 2016 promo video

***

Marianne Vos‘ interview on Ella Cycling Tips about returning to racing.

Continue reading

Sarah interviews… Marianne Vos

Podcast interview logoMarianne Vos is without doubt one of the greatest cyclists of all time, with an amazing palmares that includes two Olympic gold medals and twelve World Championship titles across road, cyclocross and track.  But after a relatively lucky career without too many injuries, 2015 has been a bad one for her, with a hamstring injury and broken rib that have kept her off the bike for most of the season.  She’s focusing on recovering completely before she comes back to race, and in the mean time has been busy with new challenges including presenting the tv highlights of the Aviva Women’s Tour, and visiting the Giro Rosa… and being her usual generous self, taking time out to answer some questions. Listen to her talk about riding with strangers from the internet at AWT, why watching racing on tv is more scary than riding herself, who she most enjoys competing with on the road and in the mud, why she’s not planning to take on the Hour – and of course, where she is with the recovery.

 

 

( 25.5MB) You can get automated free updates via the iTunes store here or via our RSS feed here.  Or there’s a transcript below for people who’d rather read than listen

We spoke after Stage 6 of the Giro Rosa, when Marianne had just come back from a ride….

Continue reading

Sarah interviews… Guy Elliott, on the 2015 Aviva Women’s Tour

Podcast interview logoYou might have already listened to my podcast talking about my experiences working on the 2015 Aviva Women’s Tour, one of the biggest women’s cycling events of the year – and we’re still on the same theme, because I’ve also interviewed Guy Elliott, who works for SweetSpot as one of the race controllers.  We talked about the highs and lows of this year’s race, how it compared to last year, and Guy answered questions sourced from twitter as well.  I probably laugh too much, and we definitely get confused about which breakaway was on which stage (sorry Stage 1 escapees!) but in our defense, we’re still in that post-Tour giddy zone!

Listen to the podcast interview here (click through to download)

 

Subscribe for automated updates from the iTunes store here or via our RSS feed here.

If you want to follow Guy on twitter, he’s here – and you can find out more about SweetSpot, who run the race, on their website, youtube and instagram.  Of course, make sure you follow the Aviva Women’s Tour on their website, twitter, and like them on facebook (can we get them to over 5,000 likes?).  Want to show their sponsors that women’s cycling has an audience?  Click on the Aviva Women’s Tour partner page, and click through to each of their sponsors (buy some Soreen malt loaf, Adnam’s beer, or even a Skoda car, you won’t regret it!).

And I’ll link you to all the videos etc very soon, but in the meantime, here are the race’s own highlights, and the hour-long programmes from ITV cycling (available for around 3 weeks)

Podcast Episode 15 – The Aviva Women’s Tour

Podcast logoSarah’s been off at the Aviva Women’s Tour and had an amazing week at the race. She catches Dan up on all the shenanigans and goings on. We also talk quickly about a bunch of other races that were on including Buka Europeans Champs, Giro Del Trentino and the interesting story of Carmen Small racing with the men at the North Star GP in Minneapolis. (1:17:02 MIN / 73.97 MB) WARNING: If you’re new to our podcast, do note that it’s a sweary podcast about women’s cycling. 😉

To stream the episode in all its glory, click here (right-click, save-as to download).

You can also sign up for automated updates via the iTunes store here or via our RSS feed here.

Stuff we talked about

One of the best images from the Aviva Women’s Tour:

Sarah in her office this week (photo by the wonderful Balint Hamvas)

In my office by Balint Hamvas

And a nice intro video (Sarah’s preparing a whole post of videos, never fear!):