How to follow the 2017 Giro Rosa live, and watch the highlights

30th June – 9th July 2017

It’s the biggest women’s cycling race of the year, the only Grand Tour equivalent on the calendar, and while there are no live streams, we can still follow the action as it happens!  Here’s my guide, with information and previews – and after every stage, I’ll be putting up a post of all the videos, photos and race reports I can find, so come back throughout the race!

Find out about the race

As always, start with the race website, with the usual caveat that the profiles can be somewhat misleading.  Basically, the profiles make each stage look much easier than it is, so mentally adjust the left axis!

Dan and I podcast-previewed the race, and there are more previews on Ella Cycling Tips, Road & Mud and various articles on Cyclingnews’ women’s portal.

The startlist is on the race website, but I use the Cycling Fever one, as it’s generally more accurate.  The best place for results is the FICR website, which will also update the ITT live.

The race takes place in European CEST timezone – that’s 1 hour ahead of UK BST, 6 hours ahead of North American EDT and 8 hours behind Australian AEST – so Stage 1 starting at 16:45 is 3:45pm BST, 10:45am EDT and 00:45 AEST; and Stage 4 starting at 12:10 CEST is 11:10am BST, 6:10am EDT and 10:10pm AEST. For full timings of each stage, go to the relevant stage page, and scroll down to where it says timetable.

Follow the race live

There is no live feed, so we live on twitter, and in recent years, the race twitter hasn’t started tweeting until late in each stage.  But!  The UCI Women’s WorldTour twitter should be updating, we can follow the #GiroRosa hashtag, and I have a twitter list which includes accounts livetweeting from the race, which is the easiest one-stop-shop I’ve found.

The Stage 5 ITT will hopefully have livetiming on FICR – their Giro page is here and their livetiming page here.

Watch the highlights

Every day there’ll be 20 minute highlights of each stage during the Tour de France highlights on Italian TV station RAI 3, and there will also be highlights repeated on the RAI Sport channel too.  The RAI programme guide is here, but it shifts a lot, so check it every day.  You can watch RAI3 and  other RAI channels here, if you’re in Italy, or have a VPN – or there are streams, if you google “RAI 3 stream”, for example, this one, but I recommend having an adblock on, and of course, not clicking into ad windows.

These highlights also appear on YouTube, the race also puts daily highlights videos on their facebook  and sometimes on their YouTube and there will be daily clips on the UCI YouTube too.  As I say, I’ll pull together all the clips I can find for daily catch-up packages.

Win prizes!

London bike café chain Look Mum No Hands! are running another of their #RiderResults competitions, where every day, I’ll pick a rider for them, and if you tweet Look Mum! before 5k to go in each stage, with where you think she’ll finish the stage, you could win prizes from the Look Mum! shop.  Check out their twitter and my twitter for the daily riders, and I’ll also put each rider into my daily video posts.

***

If all that makes you hungry for more Giro, check out what happened last year – the 2015 edition is under this tag, and the 2014 edition of the race here.   Big thanks to my Patreon supporters, who fund me to do this kind of thing.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “How to follow the 2017 Giro Rosa live, and watch the highlights

  1. I wanted my first comment on Pro Women’s Cycling .com to be a positive one, but. Oh come on, the only women’s Grand Tour and no TV. Cough, pirate streams it is, cough.

  2. Thanks can’t wait for the race.

    20 mins is so disappointing though. I was actually rewatching the 2011 giro on YouTube… it seemed to be more like 1 hour highlights back then.

    • Yeah, I’m really gutted about that – it’s been a great year for more new races showing video, but a bad year for the biggest stage races showing less…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s