Follow and watch the 2017 Para-cycling Track World Championships

2nd-5th March 2017

It’s a real shame that the 2017 Para-cycling Track World Championships was announced with only eight weeks’ notice, because it meant that a lot of important riders and teams just weren’t able to race – whether for budget or preparation reasons.  It should have been a great move, actually having a Para Track Worlds (not something the UCI prioritises), and running it alongside the able-bodied Track World Cup could be a step towards integrating the Para and Able-bodied Track events, which is something a lot of people have been calling for, for a long time.

But now it’s here, it’s time to focus on the positives!

The racing is in the Los Angeles velodrome, which last weekend hosted the first Track World Cup in the USA for 10 years.  The last session is going to have a livestream on the UCI website, on Sunday 5th March, at 1pm USA PDT (4pm EDT; 9pm UK GMT; 22:00 European CET; 8am Monday Australian AEST)

But how can we follow the racing until the livestream?

Live timing

There’s no Tissot Timing here – but live timing will happen on the VeloResults site.

Live images

Hopefully there’ll be some  some periscoping (live & replayable videos posted on the app and twitter) of some of the races, from the Velodrome (click for their twitter) and Cycling Canada of races with Canadians in – follow their twitter to see that.

Social media

The best way to follow will be twitter.   Start with the #Paracycling2017 hashtag, which has some lovely content from riders and Feds, and UCI’s excellent Para-cycling twitter – and I’ve got a twitter list for Para-cyclists and team accounts which I’m adding to all the time.  Teams to watch on twitter include Australia, Canada, Colombia, Germany, Great BritainNew Zealand, USA Paracycling twitter,

Hopefully there’ll also be updates from the LA velodrome twitter account.

The competition schedule is here with all timings in North American PDT, which is 3 hours behind North American EDT – 8 hours behind UK GMT, 9 hours behind European CET and 14 hours behind Australian AEST.  So the timings converted for the different sessions – the timings for the UK and European evening sessions, and all Australia are on the following day.

Session 1, Thursday 2nd March, 2pm PDT (5pm EDT, 10pm GMT, 23:00 CET, 9am Friday AEST)

screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-09-34-26

Session 2, Friday 3rd March, 1pm PDT (4pm EDT; 9pm GMT, 22:00 CET, 8am Saturday AEST)

screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-09-35-47

Session 3, Saturday 4th March, 10am PDT (1pm EDT; 6pm GMT; 19:00 CET; 5am Sunday AEST)

Session 4, Saturday 4th March, 1pm PDT (3pm EDT; 9pm GMT; 22:00 CET; 8am Sunday AEST)

screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-09-37-35

Session 5, Sunday 5th March, 9am PDT (midday EDT; 5pm GMT; 18:00 CET; 4am AEST)

Session 6, Sunday 4th March, 1pm PDT (3pm EDT; 9pm GMT; 22:00 CET; 8am Monday AEST)

screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-09-41-50

Results

Results and startlists are going to be on the Veloresults website, and you can sign up for them to be emailed, or see them on the RSS website.

Race Reporting

The Spanish Cycling Federation is excellent at videos from riders – keep an eye on their YouTube throughout the competition.

There should be lots of race reports from every day on various National Federations’ Paracycling portals, including:

More information

The competition media guide is on the UCI Para Track Worlds portal, with more information, and their competition preview – and there are some interesting articles about the sport on the UCI’s Para-cycling page – including the current call for Para-cyclists to join the UCI’s Athletes’ Commission.

If I find more, I’ll post it – and if there are videos, I’ll collect them after the competition, and put them up on my twitter and on my Tumblr, and here, as I find them.  Of course, if you see more, please do share it with me, in the comments here, or on my twitter.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s