Watch and follow the 2017 Los Angeles Track World Cup

24-26th February 2017

It’s time for the final round of the 2016/7 Track World Cup – and I’m here to tell you how we can watch the final session live, and follow the rest of the action as it happens.

It’s really exciting that it’s in LA, as there hasn’t been a Track World Cup in the USA since 2008.

The UCI will have a livestream on Sunday 26th February that will be a mix of live racing, and highlights of the previous days’, starting at 6pm USA PDT (9pm USA EDT; 2am UK GMT; 03:00 European CET; 1pm Monday Australian AEST).

Head to the UCI YouTube or the UCI’s website for that, and for any highlights clips from the racing that might go up before then.

The stream may be geo-restricted in some countries, because it’ll be shown on TV – here’s the UCI broadcast guide, showing how to watch on TV live in the USA, Czechia, Norway and New Zealand, and on a delay in France, USA, Singapore, South Africa and on European Eurosport. For example, the UCI says Eurosport 2 will show the stream on Monday 27th at 4:30pm GMT/17:30 CET – BUT check your local E/sport listings, because in the UK it looks like it’s on just after 8pm.

If it’s blocked in your country, try watching with a VPN set to Argentina or somewhere without TV – here’s inrng’s guide to what VPNs are.

But what about following the racing before that stream?  I have some top tips!

Live images

There’s some periscoping (live & replayable videos posted on the app and twitter) of some of the races, from the Velodrome (click for their twitter) and Cycling Canada of races with Canadians in – follow their twitter to see that.

Live timing

We can follow each day’s results as they happen on the Tissot live timing.  Go to Tissot Timing’s Los Angeles Track World Cup page, and click on the LIVE link in the red box.

The competition schedule is here with all timings in North American PDT, which is 3 hours behind North American EDT – 8 hours behind UK GMT, 9 hours behind European CET and 14 hours behind Australian AEST.  So the timings converted for the different sessions – the timings for the UK and European evening sessions, and all Australia are on the following day.

Session 1, Friday 24th February, 7pm PDT (10pm EDT, Saturday: 3am GMT, 04:00 CET, 2pm AEST)

  • women’s Team Pursuit & Team Sprint qualifiers
  • men’s Team Sprint quaifiers

Session 2, Saturday 25th February, 11am PDT (2pm EDT; 7pm GMT, 20:00 CET, 6am Sunday AEST)

  • women’s Keirin, Team Sprint & Team Pursuit round 1
  • men’s Omnium Scratch & Tempo races and Sprint from qualis to quarterfinals

Session 3, Saturday 25th February, 6pm PDT (9pm EDT; Sunday: 2am GMT; 03:00 CET; 1pm AEST)

  • women’s Keirin round 2 & finals and Team Sprint & Team Pursuit finals
  • men’s Sprint semi-and finals and Scratch and Omnium Elimination & Points

Session 4, Sunday 26th February, 11am PDT (2pm EDT; 7pm GMT; 20:00 CET; 6am Monday AEST)

  • women’s Sprint from qualis to quarterfinals and Individual Pursuit, Scratch and Madison qualifiers
  • men’s Keirin round 1 and Team Sprint round 1

Session 5, Saturday 18th February, 6pm PDT (9pm EDT; Monday: 2am GMT; 03:00 CET; 1pm AEST)

  • women’s Sprint semi- & finals and Individual Pursuit, Scratch & Madison finals
  • men’s Keirin round 1 & finals, and Madison & Team Sprint finals

Race results

TheTissot page will be updated as the races take place – when things are white, there’s no information there yet, but when it’s red, you can click on it and read or download the results.  It also includes all the startlists and the race programmes for each day.

Social media

Of course we can follow the racing on social media – start with the LA velodrome twitter account.  Then, the official hashtag for the Track World Cup is and the UCI’s Track account is @UCI_Track.

I’m really enjoying the Fixed Gear Fever updates from the LA velodrome, and as always, Guy Swarbrick is updating at @TrackCycling, and I’ve also got a twitter list of Track women to see what they’re saying about the racing.

More information

There’s a lot more information on the Los Angeles Velodrome website, facebook and instagram and on the UCI’s Track portal.  The full Track World Cup race book is here, including the race programme, as well as some great rider biographies and descriptions of races.

If you’ve missed any of the Track World Cups this season, and want to catch up, check out the highlights on the UCI YouTube, and all the results on the Tissot Timing pages for Round 1, Apeldoorn, Round 2, Manchester, both in November 2016, and Round 3, Cali, last week.  Watch the UCI’s stream from Cali here:

***

If you have any more resources to help follow the racing, leave me a comment below, or a comment on twitter.  I’ll put a post of video and media up next week – and as always, big thanks to my Patreon supporters, who fund me from as little as £/$/€ 2 a month.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s