Watch and follow the 2017 Cali Track World Cup

17th-19th February 2017

The third round of the 2016-7 Tissot Track World Cup is in Cali, Colombia – we can follow the action live, and even watch some of it.

The UCI will have a livestream on Sunday 19th February that will be a mix of live racing, and highlights of the previous days’ – I think it will start at 15:30 COT (3:30pm USA EDT; 8:30pm UK GMT; European 21:30 CET; 7:30 Monday AEST).  Head to the UCI YouTube or the UCI’s website for that, and for any highlights clips from the racing that might go up before then.

UPDATE!  Here’s the stream:

(The stream may be geo-restricted in some countries, because it’ll be shown on TV – here’s the UCI broadcast guide, showing how to watch on TV live in Norway, Singapore and South Africa, and on a delay in France, USA and on European Eurosport.  If it’s blocked in your country, try watching with a VPN set to the UK – here’s inrng’s guide to what VPNs are)

But what about following the racing before that stream?  I have some top tips!

1. We can follow each day’s results as they happen on the Tissot live timing.  Go to Tissot Timing’s Cali Track World Cup page here, and click on the LIVE link in the red box.

2. TheTissot page will be updated as the races take place – when things are white, there’s no information there yet, but when it’s red, you can click on it and read or download the results.  It also includes all the startlists and the race programmes for each day – and the full competition programme is on the race website.

Cali is in the COT timezone, which is the same as the North American EDT time zone – 5 hours behind UK GMT, 6 hours behind European CET and 11 hours behind Australian AEST.  So the timings converted for the different sessions:

  • Session 1, Friday 17th February, 14:00 COT (2pm EDT; 7pm GMT; 20:00 CET; 6am Saturday AEST) – women’s Omnium Scratch & Tempo races & Qualifying for women’s & men’s Team Sprint, and men’s Team Pursuit
  • Session 2, Friday 17th February, 18:20 COT (6:20pm EDT; 11:20pm GMT; 00:20 CET; 10:20am Saturday AEST) – women’s Omnium Elimination & Points; 1st rounds & finals for women’s & men’s Team Sprint and men’s Team Pursuit
  • Session 3, Saturday 18th February, 11:30 COT (11:30am EDT; 4:30pm GMT, 17:30 CET; 3:20am AEST) – women’s Sprint from Qualis to Quarterfinals, and Team Pursuit & Scratch Qualifications; men’s Keirin Round 1 and omnium Scratch & Tempo races
  • Session 4, Saturday 18th February, 18:30 COT (6:30pm EDT; 11:30pm GMT; 00:30 CET; 10:30am Sunday AEST) – women’s Sprint semi- & finals and Scratch finals; men’s Keirin Round 2 & Finals, and Omnium Elimination & Points
  • Session 5, Sunday 19th February, 10:00 COT (10am EDT; 3pm GMT, 16:00 CET; 2am AEST) – women’s Team Pursuit and Points qualifications and Keirin Round 2; men’s Sprint from Qualis to Quarterfinals and Kilo TT qualifications
  • Session 6, Sunday 19th February, 15:30 COT (3:30pm EDT; 8:30pm GMT; 21:30 CET; 7:30 Monday AEST) – women’s Team Pursuit and Keirin Round 2 and Finals and Points Finals; men’s Sprint semi-and finals, and Kilo and Madison finals

You’ll notice that there are two more races for men than for women – the Kilo TT and the Madison.  No, I don’t know why this is either.

3. The social media is always excellent in Cali – start with the official twitter account, who already have great links, snippets and RTs on their account, in Spanish and English.

The official hashtag for the Track World Cup is and the UCI’s Track account is @UCI_Track.  I love Guy Swarbrick’s live updates at @TrackCycling, and I’ve also got a twitter list of Track women to see what they’re saying about the racing.

There’s a lot more information on the Cali Track World Cup website and facebook, and on the UCI’s Track portal.

If you’ve missed any of the Track World Cups this season, and want to catch up, check out the highlights on the UCI YouTube, and all the results on the Tissot Timing pages for Round 1, Apeldoorn, and Round 2, Manchester, both in November 2016.

***

If you have any more resources to help follow the racing, leave me a comment below, or a comment on twitter.  I’ll put a post of video and media up next week – and as always, big thanks to my Patreon supporters, who fund me from as little as £/$/€ 2 a month.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s