Two Cyclocross races to watch this weekend! 2017 Krawatencross and Hoogstraten

The elite women’s race at the 2017 Cyclocross World Championships was one of the all-time greatest cycling races I’ve ever seen, and I loved the whole weekend.  And the best thing?  Not only was the 2016/7 season the first time we got to see all the major women’s CX races live (and a whole load of the minor ones too!) – but there are three races left to come from the season – and we can watch them live too!  Here’s how to watch the Krawatencross in Lille on 4th February, and SuperPrestige Hoostraten on the 5th.

IJsboerke Ladies Trophy (DVV Trophee) #8 –  Krawatencross, Lille

Saturday 4th February, coverage from 13:40 European CET (12:40pm UK GMT, 7:40am USA EST, 11:40pm Australian AEST)

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-13-08-18

It’s the final round of the IJsboerke Ladies Trophy, the women’s series of the DVV Trophee, and one of the three big cyclocross series.  Huge kudos to them, because we can watch in at least 3 ways.  if you can, do it officially:  watch live on Sporza in Belgium, the Bike Channel in the UK, Trek Bikes in the USA.   But if you can’t do that, there’ll be streams here and here.

The IJsboerke Ladies Trophy is worked out by cumulative time across all 8 rounds – and it looks like leader Thalita de Jong won’t be able to race because of her injuries at the Hoogerheide World Cup – but here are the current standings.

The course information is here – there’s lots of sand, and you know I’m hoping riders will end up in the lake – and the startlist here.

The men’s race starts at 15:00 CET (2pm GMT, 9am EST, 1am AEST) and watch it in all the same ways as you can watch the women.

***

SuperPrestige #7 – Hoogstraten

Sunday 5th February, coverage from 13:40 CET (12:40pm GMT, 7:40am USA EST, 11:40pm Australian AEST)

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-13-30-20

It’s also the penultimate round of another major series, the Hansgrohe SuperPrestige, and it will be broadcast live on Telenet or Proximus TV in Belgium, and there should be be streams here and here.

The SuperPrestige overall is counted on points, and here’s the current Classification.  Course information here, and the race startlist is low down on the Superprestige race information page (look for Deelnemerslijst, and then Dames)

The men’s race starts at 15:00 CET (2pm GMT, 9am EST, 1am AEST) and watch it in all the same ways as you can watch the women.

***

Big thanks to my Patreon supporters, who fund me to do this kind of thing – I really appreciate you all

If you, like me, love cyclocross, you really should order a copy of Balint Hamvas’ 2016-7 Cyclocross album.  I’ve got a load of these – they’re annual coffee table books about the CX seasons, and they’re gorgeous.  Balint’s photos can be found on Cyclephotos.co.uk, and I can’t recommend his work enough!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s