Home > cycling, MTB, podcast, The Unofficial Unsanctioned Women's UCI Cycling Show, women's cycling > Podcast 2016 Episode 33 – Sarah Is Not Allowed On Mountain Bikes

Podcast 2016 Episode 33 – Sarah Is Not Allowed On Mountain Bikes

Podcast logoThis week we talk about all of the worlds time-trialling in Doha. The heat in Qatar showed up in full force and played havoc with the Team Time Trial. There was plenty of riders suffering from heatstroke and heat related stress which was deeply concerning. We also talk about how this impacted on the results. There’s the Junior and Elite women’s Individual Time Trials to discuss as well, with some interesting and surprising results there. Although fortunately with less dramatic heat. We catch up on the latest cyclocross and mountainbike news and round the episode out with a bit of gossip. (1:23:00 MIN / 75.99 MB)

You can get free automated updates via the iTunes store here or via our RSS feed here.

Things we talked about this week included

This week’s racing

2016 Road World Championships!



Sarah’s guide to watching and following the 2016/7 Cyclocross

SuperPrestige #1, Gieten

Gorgeous photos by Balint Hamvas


IJsboerke Ladies Tophy (DVV Trophee) #1, Ronse


Trek CXC Cup


Charm City Cyclocross

Lots of great interviews on Dirtwire TV


Mountain Bike

The final 2016 Enduro World Series, Ligure

So beautiful! We recommend the media, because it’s a stunning part of the world.

Photo essays on Pinkbike: Previews, Practice, Day 1 racing and Day 2 racing.

Videos: Course preview, Race intro, short highlights, longer highlights, and video following the Gehrig Twins.


Red Bull Foxhunt

Such a fun, happy, mass-participation event!

Rachel Atherton’s course preview, and her excellent helmetcam of her run – and photo galleries from the practice and the race on Red Bull Bike, and photos on Pinkbike.



Supercross World Cup #7, Rock Hill

BMX World Cup #8, Sarasota


Other things we talked about

We were devastated to read the statement from Sharon Laws about her recent Cancer diagnosis. Story on BBC Sport.


Emma Pooley on British Cycling bringing her name into their latest Team Sky scandal – and why it was impossible she was involved. We liked:

“The only thing I know is where I was on June 12th and I absolutely was not meeting anyone from British Cycling, anywhere. Certainly not Simon Cope at La Toussuire. I was at a stage race in Spain losing the yellow jersey on a descent in the rain. I can distinctly remember it because it was a bit of a disaster.”


News about the new women’s multi-stage Tour de France, which will happen in 2017, and how it affects Thüringen Rundfahrt – and Dwars door de Westhoek is moving because of the new women’s Liège-Bastogne-Liège.


Emily Chappell writes about the Adventure Syndicate’s North Coast 500 with a group of “ordinary women”, and how it feels to push through barriers


More international riders signed to Alé Cipollini.


The latest Ella Cycling Tips blog from the SHEcret Pro


Mara Abbott talks about losing the Olympic Games


Upcoming racing

Junior Road World Championships Road Race, 14th October, 8:30am (6:30am BST, 07:30 CEST, 1:30am EDT, 4:40pm AEDT) – how to watch and follow the race.

Elite women’s Road World Championships Road Race, 15th October, 12:45pm AST (10:45am BST, 11:45 CEST, 5:45am EDT, 8:45pm AEDT) – how to watch and follow the race.

Superprestige #2 Cyclocross Zonhoven, 16th October – the women’s race will be streamed live, on Sporza for Belgians, and on Bike TV in the UK (if you can’t see those, look for streams here, here or here) – women’s race starts 15:30 Euro CEST (2:30pm UK BST, 9:30am North American EDT, 12:30am Aussie AEDT)

UCI World Cup #3, Valkenburg, aka Caubergcross, 23rd October – will be streamed live on the UCI YouTube, and streams here, here or here – women’s race starts 13:30 Euro CEST (12:30pm UK BST, 7:30am North American EDT, 10:30pm Aussie AEDT)


Sarah’s guide to watching and following the 2016/7 Cyclocross season.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: