Home > cycling, Live cycling, women's cycling > How to follow the 2016 Trofeo Alfredo Binda and Trofeo da Moreno LIVE

How to follow the 2016 Trofeo Alfredo Binda and Trofeo da Moreno LIVE

Sunday 20th March 2016

From the cobbles of the Netherlands, the Women’s World Tour takes us back to the hills of Varese, in Northern Italy, for Round 3, the Trofeo Alfredo Binda, and the UCI-ranked Junior women’s race taking place on the same roads, the Trofeo da Moreno.

UPDATE!  The race media are saying the Trofeo Binda is LIVE too!

UPDATE AGAIN!  It’s not actually a full-livestream.

So that’s still pretty good – the race passes through the finish-line about 4 times during the race, and they’ll have a live-ticker and more information throughout the race, their ticker is always excellent.  This worked really well for the Vårgårda World Cup, so it is still an exciting step up.

Tune into the race live page from 13:15 Euro CET (12:15pm UK GMT; 8:15am EDT; 11:15pm Aussie AEDT) – the races starts at 13:30. And here’s the Youtube link to watch what they’re doing:

I’ll be doing home-made English-language commentary on my Mixlr too, for the last hour and a half, starting at 15:00 CET/2pm GMT/10am EST/1am AEDT.

There will also be highlights etc from the Junior Trofeo da Moreno too, so watch that page then too – it’ll also have ticker information too

These races aren’t livestreamed, but they have fantastic social media, they usually have a brilliant liveticker, and traditionally excellent highlights later on the day.  And I’m going to continue with my experimental race commentary, this time giving live commentary based on twitter updates – kind of like internet radio coverage.  Let’s see if it works!

Before I start with all that, check out the race’s preview video about Gavirate, where they’re starting this year

Beautiful!  Now, here’s how the follow them

Women’s World Cup #2, Trofeo Binda

The race starts at 13:30 Euro CET (12:30pm UK GMT; 11:30pm Aussie AEDT; 8:30am USA EDT), and is due to finish roughly around 16:30 CET (3:30pm GMT; 2:30am AEDT; 11:30am EST).

Tuttobici usually has a ticker too.

We can definitely follow this one on twitter.  The official hashtag is #TrBinda, and of course there’ll be information on the World Tour’s #UCIWWT too – and the race twitter, @TrofeoBinda, is one of the best – they’ve been putting up some great photos of previous winners in the run-up to the race, and other fun tasters and teasers.  And as always, I’ve been updating my list of live race tweeters with people updating from the race, so we can use that too.

The race will tweet out the startlist nearer the time, but until then, I’ll be using this great one from Cycling Fever.

The 123.3km Course has changed has changed a little this year, but only on the starting section – it’s the usual long, hilly loop, and then the four local laps of Cittiglio, with a thigh-biting climb, technical descent and ‘false flat’ finish and lots of places to attack and escape.  There’s a lot more information in the technical guide.

Highlights of the race will be on RAI Sport, on Sunday on RAI Sport 1’s stream – it looks like it’ll be at 17:00 Euro CET on Sunday (4pm UK GMT; midday EDT; 3am AEDT) and you may need a VPN set to Italy, or try this stream –  and check the tv schedule nearer the time, because these could change, or move to RAI Sport 2.

I’ll update changes here when I see them, and we can always rely on the Robin Hoods of YouTube to help us watch it if we miss it!  We can also look for highlights on the UCI YouTube, and definitely on the race YouTube.


Trofeo da Moreno

The Trofeo da Moreno is in the morning before Binda, and it’s the first race in the brand-new Junior women’s Nations Cup, which includes the junior Gent-Wevelgem, April’s Energiewacht Tour Junior Stage race, and the Albstadt-Frauen-Etappenrennen stage race in June.

It starts at 09:15 CET (8:15am GMT; 7:15pm AEDT; 4:15am EST) and should finish around 11:00 CET.  The course is 66.7km, and this year it’s less tough than before, with the same start section, followed by five flat-ish laps of their own, then the same small loop the elites race. This is such a wonderful race for the junior women – hard, tough, and getting to ride exactly the same parcours as the pro teams, on the same day, is so special – they can race hard and then see first hand how the their heroines too it on.  Not to mention that all the teams know exactly what the Binda challenges are, so will be scouting young talent to sign for the future!  Superstar Amalie Dideriksen won this before she won her first of two Junior Road World Championships, so it’s definitely a good race for future-talent spotting.

We can usually follow with the @TrofeoBinda twitter.  The draft startlist is here, and  again, watch the race twit for updates.


Lots more information about both races on the website, and make sure you’re also following the race instagram and facebook.

If you want to find out more about the race, check out the history on their website.  And re-live previous years’ videos from both races (and it’s always gorgeous racing), I’ve got collections of media from the races from 2015, 2014, 2013 and 2012.  If you want to know what riders think about the race, I interviewed Elisa Longo Borghini before 2013 and Emma Johansson before 2014 (read or listen) – coincidentally just before each of them won it!

I’ll be putting up any videos and things I see on my women’s cycling Tumblr as I see them, and an collection here after the race.  I’m funded to do all my women’s cycling work thanks to my amazing Patreon supporters, who I’m always so grateful to – if you’d like to join them, from as little as £/€/$ 2 a month, it’s all over here.

  1. Matias Christiansson
    March 20, 2016 at 9:20 am

    We cycling fans want more than fixed cameras!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: