Home > cycling, cyclocross, Live cycling, women's cycling > Happy New Year! And the first bike racing of 2016

Happy New Year! And the first bike racing of 2016

Firstly, Happy New Year!  Huge thanks to everyone who’s supported me, shared my stuff and chatted with me about the wonderful world of women’s cycling.  I hope you all have a wonderful 2016, and that we get even better bike racing.

That racing starts immediately, and there’s tons of racing to watch and follow this weekend – road, track and cyclocross!

Bay Crits, 1st-4th January

We start in Australia, where New Year’s Day is celebrated at the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic, aka the Bay Crits, 4 days of super-tough criterium racing, for able-bodied and para-cycling women and men.  Lots of information on the website, we can follow live with the #BayCrits hashtag, and there’ll be videos afterwards on the Bay Crits YouTube and on SBS Cycling Central.  I’ll collect the videos after the race is over, like I did in January 2015.  The Bay Crits are in Victoria, which is in the AEDT timezone – 11 hours ahead of UK GMT, 10 hours ahead of European CET and 16 hours ahead of North American EST.  So the women’s Stage 1 starts at 17:00 AEDT, for example, which is 6am GMT, 07:00 CET and 1am EST.

The Bay Crits kick off an amazing month of road cycling in Australia – the Summer of Cycling.  If you want to know more about the races, the wonderful Monique Hanley, who works for Cycling Victoria and Cycling Australia, among other things, talked to me about them all, how women’s cycling in Australia is developing, and much more – listen to that podcast here.


GP Sven Nys, 1st January

The next live race is in Belgium, where the traditional start to the year is a crazy-tough muddy cyclocross – the GP Sven Nys, in Nys’ home of Baal.  It’s going to be poignant this time, as it’s the last time Nys will race here – and as the penultimate round of the bpost bank trofee, it’s be hard-fought.

The racing starts at 13:45 Euro CET (12:45pm GMT, 7:45am EDT and 11:45pm Aussie AEDT) and the men start at 15:00 CET (2pm GMT, 9am EDT and 1am AEDT) on Friiday 1st January, and the women’s race will be streamed on Sporza as well as the men – you can find the stream via the Sporza GP Sven Nys Matchcenter, the same stream on the bpost page that goes up on the day of each race, or via this link.  And, of course, more streams here or hereUPDATE!  Streams of the women are hard to find, but you can VPN into the Sporza stream.  More information on the bpost page and the race website.  If you need more advice on how to watch CX live, here’s my post.


EKZ Cross Tour Meilen, Saturday 2nd January

The EKZ Cross Tour is a small CX series of 5 Swiss races,  and the final round, in Meilen, has got livestreaming!  The startlist includes Eva Lechner and Pavla Havlikova, as well as road star Lucinda Brand, and MTB legend Sabine Spitz.  There’s lots more info on the race site, and the women start at 12:45 CET (11:45am GMT, 6:45am EST, 11:45pm AEDT), with their Youtube stream here, and the men at 14:45 CET (1:45pm GMT, 9:45am EST and 00:45 AEDT), on this YT stream.


Surhuisterveen Centrumcross, Saturday 2nd January

Another live CX race, as it will be shown on Dutch TV station NOS, and on Youtube, and it looks like there’ll be more streams here.  The women race at 13:00 CET (12pm GMT, 7am EST, 11pm AEDT) and the men at 14:30 CET (1:30pm GMT, 8:30am EST, 00:30 AEDT) and I’m guessing we’ll see the Dutch riders like Sophie de Boer and Thalita de Jong here, as well as Helen Wyman, according to the race website.


Trying to decide which of those CX races to watch live?  They’ll both be archived on the YTs, so you’ll be able to catch up with both!


Revolution #5, Manchester, Saturday 2nd January 

If you’re a track fan, then we have something for you too – Round 5 of the Revolution series of track events in Britain, live from Manchester.  It’s fun racing, with some international riders as well as stars and up-and-coming trackies from the UK (Kirsten Wild! Laura Trott! Leire Olaberria! Malgorzata Wojtyra! Elinor Barker!) and the final evening sessions will be shown live on Eurosport, from 8-10pm GMT (21:00-23:00 CET, 3-5pm EST, 7-9am Sunday AEDT) and there are always streams – try here or here.  The race programme is here, with lots more information, like the startlist, on the Revolution website.


Soudal Classics #5 – Leuven, Sunday 3rd January

More cyclocross happens almost straight away – the smallest Belgian series, but always fun races, and we get it live too!  It’s a relatively new race, and the course has included some really steep parts, and the timings are the same as for the GP Sven Nys.  The Sporza Leuven Matchcenter will have the livestream, and if that’s restricted, more streams here or here.  Information on the Soudal Classics race page.


Happy New Year!  If you know of anything else we should be watching, let me know in the comments – and of course, talk to me about all the racing on Twitter!

As always, I’m funded to do this sort of thing by my wonderful Patreon supporters – thank you so much!  Join them, for as little as $2/month, and I’ll be eternally grateful.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: