Home > cycling, cyclocross, Live cycling, women's cycling > An amazing weekend of Cyclocross – the 2015 Scheldecross and Namur, LIVE!

An amazing weekend of Cyclocross – the 2015 Scheldecross and Namur, LIVE!

The cyclocross season is heading towards one of the biggest weeks of the year – between Christmas and New Year is Holy Week, with so many amazing races.  But this weekend is just as exciting for me – two of my all-time favourite races, and we can watch the women race LIVE! as well as the men!

Saturday 19th December 2015:  bpost bank trofee #4, Scheldecross, Antwerp

I’ve had a soft spot for the Scheldecross, ever since the Schelde flooded one year and riders were racing perilously close to the rising waters, but the course is always fun to watch, with off-camber sand sections, long, straight runs and twisty turny areas.

This year, Sporza is streaming the women’s races live, and some of them haven’t been geo-restricted – check the Sporza Scheldecross Matchcenter on the day, and the same stream on the bpost page that goes up on the day of each race, or via this link.  If that doesn’t work for you, look for streams in the usual places (for example, this stream works for me).

The women race at 13:45 European CET (12:45pm UK GMT, 8:45am North American EDT and 11:45pm Aussie AEDT) and the men at 15:00 CET (2pm GMT, 9am EDT and 1am AEDT), with the tv starting around 10 mins earlier, which makes life easier – and my general advice on finding streams, VPNs etc, is in this post.

The bpost season rankings are done on timings, and the rankings-so-far are here.  The startlist and lots more information will be on the bpost Scheldecross portal (“renners” = riders, “vrouwen” = women).


Sunday 20th December: Cyclocross World Cup #4, Namur

This is such a contrast to the last World Cup, the sandy and technical Koksijde – this is one of the most most MTB-like CX course, climbing and descending in the wooded hills of the historic Citadel of Namur.  It’s always an entertaining race, whatever the weather, which is the highest praise you can give a CX course.  The men’s race is still at 15:00 CET, but remember the women start at  13:30 CET (12:30pm GMT, 8:30am EDT and 11:30pm AEDT). And we can see it live!

There will be streams for the men’s and women’s races on the UCI’s Youtube, where you can watch the race afterwards as well – the women’s stream is here, and the men’s here.  This might be restricted in Belgium, where most of the World Cups are on Play tv, and in the USA, where it’s on Cycling.tv – click through now, and if there’s a countdown, you’ll be able to watch, and if not, of course you can look for streams in the usual places.

Lots of information on the Namur website, there’ll be some information on the day on the Sporza Namur Matchcenter and the UCI will have startlists and results, World Cup rankings and lots more information before and after the races on their CX World Cup portal.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: