Home > General rambling, women's cycling > How to watch the Ronde van Drenthe World Cup

How to watch the Ronde van Drenthe World Cup

I love the Drenthe races for their quirky, crazy parcours (cobbles and a man-made hill that used to be a rubbish dump) but they’re also special because we get to see part of the World Cup streamed live!!!  This is VERY EXCITING!!!!

No, seriously, it IS very exciting!  It’s one of maybe 5 road races that is shown live, so it would hold a special place in my heart, even if it wasn’t a hugely enjoyable race that can be won in a variety of ways.

So!  There are three Drenthe races – The Drentse 8 van Dwingeloo on Thursday 7th March, the Ronde van Drenthe on Saturday 9th, and the Novilon EDRCup on Sunday 10th.  I wrote a preview of all three races on Podium Café, with lots of links and videos from last year’s races, and that kind of thing. TV coverage is on local channel RTV Drenthe, and you can watch the programmes on their tv player.

Thursday 7th March 2013
19:45 CET (aka 6:45pm GMT; 1:45pm USA EST; 5:45am Friday NSW):  Highlights of Drentse 8

Saturday 9th March 2013
15:00 CET (2pm GMT; 9am USA EST; 1am Sunday NSW): Part of the World Cup, live!  Actually, we don’t know what this will be. The race starts at 10:30 CET, and it could be that they show a delayed portion of the race at 15:00, or the men’s race, or highlights – no one’s clear – but we’ll be trying to work it out on the Podium Café race thread
20:10 CET (7:10pm GMT; 2:10pm USA EST; 6:10am Sunday NSW): Highlights of the World Cup

If you want to follow the other races as they happen on twitter, I recommend my usual trio of stars, Tibco DS Manel Lacambra, Hitec manager Karl Lima and Boels mechanic Richie Steege. I’ve got a twitter list for other accounts that sometimes give real-time updates, and I’ll edit that as I go. The race twitter is @RondevDrenthe, and hopefully they’ll update there, and there will be all kinds of updates on the #RvD hashtag – and I’ll be on twitter as @_pigeons_, as always.  In the meantime, here’s a tiny trailer from RTV Drenthe, with it’s own jingle, and here’s one from the race.  I am VERY EXCITED!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: